regards,
Amit
FYI– My inclusion in Marquis Who’s Who was confirmed in Sept 2010.
]]>Dear I. DAR,
This is a final reminder that you are being considered for inclusion in Who’s Who in the World, 28th Edition (2011).
From the publisher of Who’s Who in America since 1899, Who’s Who in the World is relied upon by business leaders, journalists, academics, and other professionals for its accuracy and currency of information. It continues to be recognized as the world’s premier biographical reference source, and is found in the collections of many of the world’s leading libraries and corporations.
To be considered for inclusion as a listee in this prestigious publication, you need only complete our Biographical Data Form by June 21, 2010.
If you are selected for the new 2011 Edition, we will contact you prior to the book’s release in November 2010.
I congratulate you on the achievements that have brought your name to the attention of our editorial committee. We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Fred Marks
Editor-in-Chief ;
After that i got second email as:
You have successfully submitted your data as of 6/17/2010 06:27:10:067.
If you pass the first round of screening you will receive notification
via email to add more information for us to further review your
biography.
Regards,
Lauren Tong
Content Editor
Marquis Who’s Who LLC.
890 Mountain Ave
New Providence, NJ 07974
908-673-1179 (main fax)
Another email As;
Good Morning,
You passed the first round of screening as of 6/18/2010 09:05:50:49.
Please expect an notification from us within the next month to
add/change any information about yourself.
Regards,
Lauren Tong
Content Editor
Marquis Who’s Who LLC.
890 Mountain Ave
New Providence, NJ 07974
908-673-1179 (main fax)
In this connection, i donot beleive that they are cheaters.
With Regards,
Imran
Editor:
IJHS
In your shoes, my curiosity would get the better of me too, with the exact same caveat: so long as they don’t ask for money.
I’d think it a real hoot if you ended up in Who’s Who!
Who’s Who?, anyway? Well, I am I, for one.
]]>First of all, the photo you included above your message. If it is the exact same as the one you received, I find it strange because the quality is very poor and the year on the cover is 2007. What is the point of showing you a 3-year-old cover to invite you to be in the 2011 edition ? To me, the only aim of this picture is to lure you by making you think you are dealing with the real editors of the book.
Secondly, the fact that they tell you in their first message that you won’t have anything to pay sounds to me like they want you to feel comfortable with their proposal. This is very common with dishonest attempts at your money. And of course, they give you little time (less than a month) to answer. How strange…
I also tend to think that such a prestigious company would not contact people only by email. Maybe you’ll think that I’m going too far but I also think that such a company should be able to send someone to meet you for real before considering to include you in their book. I think you should ask for such a meeting if you want to go on with them.
And even if they don’t ask you any money for now, be really careful when you fill in their form not to commit yourself to buy one of their expensive books someday in the future. For now, I think that it is what they are trying to do. I hope I’m wrong.
Some links I have found about similar emails :
http://www.hoaxbuster.com/hoaxteam/forum_contributions.php?idForum=3152&idMess=46287
http://alertes-arnaques.blogspot.com/2009/07/jai-ete-considere-your-inclusion-to.html
I think my curiosity will definitely get the best of me and I will reply and answer their questions as long as I am not asked for money. Anyway, my CV is public (on this site and elsewhere) so they may well print in on the moon, I don’t really care. ^^
]]>